LMS Standards SCORM xAPI cmi5

Learning analytics based on SCORM, xAPI, and cmi5: How to measure learning success in eLearning

Magda Lehnert eLearning basics, eLearning software

Reading time: 7 minutes
SCORM, xAPI, and cmi5 make learning success measurable and provide you, as a company, with important indicators to help you monitor whether your continuing education opportunities in the form of online courses are successfully accepted, passed, and completed—criteria decisive for the success of your company. We will introduce you to the three most important eLearning standards, show you how they differ, and help you determine exactly which standard is most suitable for your eLearning project.

In this Blog Article, you can read about:

Learning analytics based on SCORM, xAPI and cmi5: How to measure learning success in eLearning

What are eLearning standards?

eLearning standards convey data about the learning process between learning content and learning management system. They ensure that two different systems can communicate with each other and speak the same language. This allows the online course (created with a learning-content-management system) to send and receive information to the learning-management system (LMS). Among other things, this includes information on learning progress or learning outcomes. By storing the current status, they enable the learner to resume courses easily at any time.

eLearning standard: SCORM

Shareable Content Object Reference Model

SCORM is a collection of technical standards, dating from 2001, that defines how online courses are packaged as SCORM packages, as well as how they communicate with learning-management systems. SCORM describes a static model that depicts a learning status. When a learner does something, the status changes. This is exactly what is described and recorded. Here, the vocabulary is limited to “progress complete”/”progress incomplete”, for example.

SCORM describes the relationship between exactly one learner and one learning package. The SCORM standard is commonly used in two different versions. Still widely used today, SCORM 1.2 was the first version to see widespread use and technical support in many learning-management systems. The more comprehensive version—SCORM 2004, which features a somewhat more precisely specified static model—was introduced a few years after the original standard and has seen similarly widespread use.

Data collection

The following data can be collected with SCORM 2004:

  • Course progress
  • Learning time
  • Test results for individual elements
  • Completion status for the entire course
  • Test result for the entire course

With the advancement of eLearning and the use of mobile devices, SCORM reached its limits. For example, SCORM can accommodate purely web-based courses, but not learning activities in apps or even offline activities. However, SCORM is still a respected industry standard and is frequently used. SCORM-compliant content can be quickly transferred by download and upload, and virtually any LMS is SCORM-compliant. Whether SCORM is suitable for your own eLearning project depends entirely on what exactly you want to evaluate afterwards and what you use the data for. In any case, you should pay attention to the supported SCORM versions of your LMS and content, because they must always be intercompatible.

eLearning standard xAPI

Experience Application Programming Interface

xAPI is considered to be the successor to SCORM, and is also used for eLearning content. It allows learning-activity data to be exchanged between the so-called “learning-record store” (LRS) and reporting tools or the learning-management system, regardless of format. “xAPI” stands for “Experience Application Programming Interface” (previously Tin Can API) and is a format-independent standard. It describes the communication of learning content with a learning-record store. An LRS is a central database for documenting or reporting learning activities, which are stored in the xAPI communication standard. From there, they can be forwarded to a reporting tool or an LMS.

1) The functioning of xAPI and LRS

Communication between the learning medium or application and the LRS is based on experience statements (xAPI statements), which describe individually defined learning events according to simple rules.
Image
In so-called “experience statements”, or xAPI statements, a learning event is defined on the basis of three main features: actor, object, and verb. This principle is used to communicate between the learning tool and the LRS whether and how the described event took place. An experience statement describes the following about a learning event: “Who used what, and how and when?”
Who (actor):
  • Learner or learning group
  • Virtual agents: A virtual agent is a technical system that itself performs learning-related activities and sends its own events to an LRS in the form of statements. Examples:
    • A learning space recognizes the learner present.
    • A virtual machine in a simulation performs a specific action.
    • A virtual opponent in an educational game makes a decision.
When:
  • Time
  • Context
What (object):
  • Courses
  • Assessments
  • Pages
  • Questions
  • Images
  • Video
  • Sound
  • Interactive knowledge content of any kind
How (verb):
  • Seen
  • Edited
  • Scored
  • Started/finished

2) Reporting

By using xAPI, learning events can be easily recorded using defined statements and cached in an LRS. In addition, other data on (learning) performance, which were not initially recorded via xAPI, can be loaded into this.
Image
Transmission of learning activities to a learning-data repository (LRS) and the evaluation of these

In the LRS, the various data strands are stored centrally and system-independently, merged for evaluation purposes (if required), and/or transmitted to external evaluation tools. 

This permits diverse, digital learning that can be measured both in combination with and independently of learning management systems.

3) What results do data from an LRS provide?

Individual learning outcomes at the micro-level:
  • Completion of learning content
  • Time required
  • Pass or fail
  • Reporting of single and multiple scores
  • Evaluation at the question level
  • Detailed test results from a wide range of learning scenarios (e.g., adaptive learning, social learning)
Learning behavior of specific user groups:
  • Number of learners of a system
  • Comparisons of multiple user groups on time required, pass/fail, etc.
  • Total number of all learners or sessions,
  • etc.
Hypotheses and interdependencies:
  • Number of active learners depending on the learning topic (popularity)
  • How many learners have gone through the module in period X? (Trends)
  • Most popular learning content in period X (latest trends)
  • etc.
Complex depiction of a multi-channel learning situation:
  • Combination of all these points, taking into account other external factors where appropriate. From this, conclusions can be drawn with respect to the relevance or effectiveness of different learning methods/trends for a specific use case.
    • Effectiveness of adaptive learning
    • Success of social learning
    • Benefits of interactive learning
    • Added value of blended learning
    • etc.
Based on this, an overall impression of the learning process can be gained. In addition, conclusions and recommendations for action for an improved learning process can now be derived.

4) What can reporting look like?

Reporting tools can be used to evaluate learner activities. To do this, one or more LRSs send the desired learning-activity data to the reporting tool in xAPI format. These are then visualized in configurable reports according to individual requirements. Specific hypotheses about learning activities can thus be easily tested.

a) Example of a report from country-specific e-training in wholesale trade

Dashboards of the LRS Learning Locker are a well-known reporting tool, which is also used to evaluate the learning activities of employees or customers of a global wholesaler. An individual reporting system for a learner group (country level) could look like this:
Report Lernergruppe
Individual reporting on learning activities around the product range of a globally operating wholesaler

b) Example of a report from a flashcard app

In contrast to learning in closed learning-management systems, which communicate exclusively with SCORM-based content, xAPI and LRS also allow the evaluation of system-independent, digital content, and can be used in mobile apps. An example from a typical eLearning scenario shows the results of the Knowledgeworker Cards learning-card app, which employees of a company in the medical industry use to refresh their knowledge.
Report Knowledgeworker Cards

5) The advantages of xAPI and LRS

In, with, or without LMS
Thanks to xAPI standard, learning is possible independently of an LMS, but can also take place within an LMS. Here, the final format of the learning content is not limited to HTML/JavaScript packages, as is the case with SCORM.
Diverse, digital content formats
Whether offline or online—almost any learning format can be communicated to an LRS via xAPI statements in conjunction with a digital activity and thus evaluated. The format of the learning content is therefore virtually irrelevant. However, digital formats against which specific learning events can be measured in an automated way are particularly suitable.
Targeted controllable data flow
Specific learning events can be defined at the micro-level and measured live for each learner individually. The analysis of learner-specific learning activities becomes possible even for contexts such as the required learning time as a function of the already-active learning time. Based on defined endpoints, data can be exchanged specifically, quickly, and directly between learning tools and LRS.
Detailed reporting for each learner
Specific learning events can be defined at the micro-level and measured live for each learner individually. The analysis of learner-specific learning activities becomes possible even for contexts such as the required learning time as a function of the already-active learning time.
Tracking of learning activities at the micro-level
Thanks to xAPI and LRS, it is possible not only to measure the completion of a learning activity, but also to collect other data and provide detailed evaluations in individual reports. Example from wholesale: Product cards in the “Apples” section provide valuable knowledge about individual apple varieties. Thanks to xAPI and LRS, it is possible to evaluate which types are called up most frequently.
LRS and xAPI permit a new level of learning-success measurement
Nearly all online and offline digital formats have measurable learning experiences. These are recorded and quantified by xAPI, stored in real-time in the learning-record store, and further processed for reporting purposes. A survey of learning activities can take place in numerous online and offline digital formats. The use of xAPI and LRS lead to new, more complex acquisition and evaluation as well as deeper understanding of digital learning processes.

eLearning standard cmi5

As the latest LMS standard, cmi5 combines the advantages of SCORM and xAPI. cmi5 is therefore also often referred to as “xAPI with rules”. Having created a standard with xAPI that is general enough to map as many use cases as possible, cmi5 streamlines the application through “constraining rules”. These now define how learning content is imported, launched, and tracked when LRS information is used and updated with xAPI. However, the range of functions remains almost the same as with xAPI.

Conclusion and recommendation

Depending on which data you want to measure, evaluate, and use for further optimization, you should pay attention to the options available to you when choosing your eLearning tools. Only xAPI and cmi5 enable the seamless tracking of learning activities that take place outside the web browser (e.g., on mobile devices, in apps, or even offline).

Sustainably shape the digital future of your organisation

We will be happy to advise you and work with you to ensure your sustainable continuing education success through the innovative design of digital learning processes.
Arrange a consultation now
header image source: Wright Studio/shutterstock.com

LMS Standards SCORM xAPI cmi5

Learning Analytics auf Basis von SCORM, xAPI und cmi5: So messen Sie Lernerfolge im E-Learning

Magda Lehnert E-Learning Grundlagen, E-Learning Software

Lesedauer: 7 Minuten
SCORM, xAPI, cmi5 machen Lernerfolge messbar und liefern Ihnen als Unternehmen wichtige Kennzahlen darüber, ob Ihre Weiterbildungsangebote in Form von Online-Kursen erfolgreich angenommen, bestanden und abgeschlossen werden – Kriterien, die für Ihren Unternehmenserfolg maßgeblich sind. Wir stellen Ihnen die drei wichtigsten E-Learning-Standards vor, zeigen Ihnen auf, wie sie sich unterscheiden und schaffen die Basis, dass Sie genau wissen, welcher Standard für Ihr E-Learning Vorhaben am geeignetsten ist.

Lesen Sie in diesem Blogbeitrag:

Learning Analytics auf Basis von SCORM, xAPI und cmi5: So messen Sie Lernerfolge im E-Learning

Was sind E-Learning-Standards?

E-Learning-Standards übertragen Daten zum Lernprozess zwischen Learning Content und Learning Management System. Sie sorgen dafür, dass zwei verschiedene Systeme miteinander kommunizieren können und die gleiche Sprache sprechen. Damit kann der Online-Kurs (erstellt mit einem Learning Content Management System) Informationen an das Learning Management System senden und empfangen. Dies sind z.B. Informationen zum Lernfortschritt oder über Lernergebnisse. Dem Lernenden ermöglichen sie durch die Speicherung des aktuellen Standes jederzeit den nahtlosen Wiedereinstieg in unterbrochene Kurse.

eLearning standard: SCORM

Shareable Content Object Reference Model

SCORM ist eine Sammlung technischer Standards aus dem Jahr 2001 und definiert, wie Online-Kurse als sogenannte SCORM-Pakete verpackt werden und wie sie mit Learning Management Systemen kommunizieren. SCORM beschreibt dabei ein Zustandsmodell (statisches Modell), das einen Lern-Zustand abbildet. Wenn ein Lerner etwas tut, verändert sich der Zustand. Genau dieser wird beschrieben und festgehalten. Dabei ist das Vokabular sehr eingeschränkt auf beispielsweise “Fortschritt vollständig”/”Fortschritt unvollständig”.

SCORM beschreibt die Beziehung zwischen genau einem Lerner und einem Lernpaket. Der SCORM Standard ist in zwei verschiedenen Versionen gebräuchlich. Die heute noch weit verbreitete Version SCORM 1.2 war die erste Version, die breite Anwendung und technische Unterstützung in vielen Lernmanagement-Systemen erfahren hat. Die umfangreichere und mit einem etwas genauer spezifizierten Zustandsmodell ausgestattete Version SCORM 2004 wurde einige Jahre nach dem ursprünglichen Standard eingeführt und hat eine vergleichbare Verbreitung gefunden.

Datenerfassung

Folgende Daten können mit SCORM 2004 erfasst werden:

  • Kursfortschritt
  • Lernzeit
  • Testergebnisse für Einzelelemente
  • Abschlussstatus für den Gesamtkurs
  • Testergebnis des Gesamtkurses

Mit der Weiterentwicklung des E-Learnings und der Nutzung mobiler Endgeräte kam SCORM an seine Grenzen. So kann SCORM ausschließlich webbasierte Kurse berücksichtigen, jedoch keine Lernaktivitäten in Apps oder gar Offline-Aktivitäten. Dennoch ist SCORM noch immer ein angesehener Industriestandard und wird sehr häufig eingesetzt. SCORM-kompatible Inhalte können im Handumdrehen per Download und Upload übertragen werden und praktisch ist jedes LMS SCORM-kompatibel. Ob SCORM für das eigene E-Learning-Vorhaben geeignet ist, hängt ganz davon ab, was genau Sie im Nachgang auswerten wollen und wofür Sie die Daten nutzen. Beachten Sie in jedem Fall die unterstützten SCORM-Versionen Ihres LMS und der Inhalte, da diese stets zueinander kompatibel sein müssen.

E-Learning-Standard xAPI

Experience Application Programming Interface

xAPI gilt als Nachfolger von SCORM und findet ebenso in E-Learning-Inhalten Verwendung. Es ermöglicht den Format-unabhängigen Austausch der Lernaktivitätsdaten zwischen dem LRS und Reportingtools oder Learning Management System (LMS). Die Abkürzung xAPI steht für Experience Application Programming Interface, veraltet auch Tin Can API genannt, und ist ein Format-unabhängiger Standard. Er beschreibt die Kommunikation von Lerninhalten mit einem so genannten Learning Record Store (LRS). Ein Learning Record Store (LRS) ist ein zentrale Datenbank für die Dokumentation bzw. den Report von Lernaktivitäten. Diese werden dort im xAPI Kommunikationsstandard abgelegt und können von dort aus an ein Reportingtool oder an ein LMS weitergegeben werden.

1) Die Funktionsweise von xAPI und LRS

Die Kommunikation zwischen Lernmedium bzw. -Applikation und dem LRS erfolgt anhand sog. Experience Statements (auch xAPI-Statements), welche individuell definierte Lernereignisse nach einfachen Regeln beschreiben.
Image
In sog. Experience-Statements oder xAPI-Statements wird anhand von drei einfachen Hauptmerkmalen ein Lernereignis definiert: actor, object, verb. Nach diesem Prinzip wird zwischen Lernmittel und LRS kommuniziert, ob und wie das beschriebene Ereignis stattgefunden hat.Ein Experience Statement beschreibt folgendes zu einem Lernereignis: “Wer hat wann was wie verwendet?”
Wer (actor):
  • Lerner oder Lerngruppe
  • virtuelle Agenten: Ein virtueller Agent ist ein technisches System, das selbst lernbezogene Aktivitäten durchführt und eigene Ereignisse in Form von Statements an ein LRS sendet. Beispiele:
    • Ein Lernraum erkennt den anwesenden Lerner.
    • Eine virtuelle Maschine in einer Simulation führt eine bestimmte Aktion durch.
    • Ein virtueller Gegner in einem Lernspiel trifft eine Entscheidung.
Hat wann:
  • Zeitpunkt
  • Kontext
Was (object):
  • Kurse
  • Assessments
  • Seiten
  • Fragen
  • Bilder
  • Video
  • Ton
  • interaktive Wissensinhalte jeder Art
Wie verwendet (verb)
  • gesehen
  • bearbeitet
  • Bewertung erreicht
  • gestartet/beendet etc.

2) Reporting

Durch die Nutzung von xAPI lassen sich Lernereignisse einfach anhand definierter Statements erfassen und in einem LRS zwischenspeichern. In diesen können zusätzlich auch noch andere Daten zur (Lern-) Performance eingespeist werden, welche nicht initial über xAPI erfasst wurden.
Image
Übermittlung von Lernaktivitäten an einen Lerndatenspeicher (LRS) und deren Auswertung

Im LRS werden die verschiedenen Datenstränge zentral und systemunabhängig gespeichert, bei Bedarf zu Auswertungszwecken zusammengeführt oder auch an externe Auswertungstools übermittelt.

Damit ist ein vielfältiges, digitales Lernen möglich, welches sowohl in Kombination mit als auch unabhängig von Lernmanagement-Systemen messbar ist.

3) Welche Ergebnisse liefern die Daten aus einem LRS?

Individuelle Lernerfolge auf Mikroebene:
  • Beenden eines Lerninhaltes
  • benötigte Zeit
  • Bestehen oder Nichtbestehen
  • Report einfacher und mehrerer Scores
  • Auswertung auf Fragen-Ebene
  • detaillierte Testergebnisse aus verschiedensten Lernszenarien (z. B. Adaptives Lernen, Social Learning, etc.)
Lernverhalten bestimmter Nutzergruppen:
  • Anzahl der Lerner eines Systems
  • Vergleiche mehrerer Nutzergruppen zu benötigter Zeit, Bestehen bzw. Nichtbestehen etc.
  • Gesamtzahl aller Lerner bzw. Sitzungen
  • etc.
Hypothesen und Zusammenhänge:
  • Anzahl aktiver Lerner in Abhängigkeit des Lernthemas (Beliebtheit)
  • Wie viele Lerner haben das Modul in Zeitraum X durchlaufen? (Trends)
  • beliebteste Lerninhalte im Zeitraum X (aktuellste Trends)
  • etc.
Komplexes Abbild einer Multi-Channel-Lernsituation:
  • Kombination aus all diesen Punkten unter ggf. Berücksichtigung weiterer externer Faktoren. Daraus lassen sich Schlüsse für die Relevanz bzw. die Effektivität verschiedener Lernmethoden/ -trends für einen spezifischen Anwendungsfall ziehen:
    • Effektivität von Adaptivem Lernen
    • Erfolg von Social Learning
    • Nutzen von interaktivem Lernen
    • Mehrwert von Blended Learning
    • etc.
Auf dieser Basis kann ein Gesamteindruck vom Lernprozess gewonnen werden. Zusätzlich lassen sich nun Schlussfolgerungen und Handlungsempfehlungen für einen verbesserten Lernprozesses ableiten.

4) Wie können Reportings aussehen?

Mithilfe von Reportingtools lassen sich Lerneraktivitäten auswerten. Dafür senden ein oder auch mehrere LRS die gewünschten Lernaktivitätsdaten im xAPI-Format an das Reportingtool. Darin werden diese dann nach individuellen Anforderungen in konfigurierbaren Reports visualisiert. Auf diese Weise lassen sich spezifische Hypothesen zu Lernaktivitäten einfach prüfen.

a) Beispiel eines Reports aus länderspezifischen E-Trainings im Großhandel

Ein bekanntes Reportingtool sind Dashboards des LRS Learning Locker, welches auch zur Auswertung der Lernaktivitäten von Mitarbeitern bzw. Kunden eines weltweit agierenden Großhandels verwendet wird. Ein individuelles Reporting für eine Lernergruppe (Länderebene) könnte darin so aussehen:
Report Lernergruppe
Individuelles Reporting zu Lernaktivitäten rund um das Produktsortiment eines weltweit agierenden Großhandels

b) Beispiel eines Reports aus einer Lernkarten-App

Im Unterschied zum Lernen in geschlossenen Lernmanagement-Systemen, welche ausschließlich mit SCORM-basierten Inhalten kommunizieren, können durch xAPI und LRS auch Auswertungen für systemunabhängige, digitale Inhalte sowie in Mobile Apps stattfinden.Ein Beispiel aus einem typischen E-Learning-Szenario zeigt die Ergebnisse der Lernkarten-App Knowledgeworker Cards, mit deren Hilfe Mitarbeiter eines Unternehmens der Medizinbranche ihr Wissen auffrischen.
Report Knowledgeworker Cards

5) Die Vorteile von xAPI und LRS

Im, mit oder ohne LMS
Dank xAPI-Standard ist das Lernen unabhängig eines LMS möglich, kann zugleich jedoch auch innerhalb eines LMS stattfinden. Dabei ist das Endformat des Lerninhalts nicht auf HTML/JavaScript Pakete beschränkt wie bei SCORM.
Vielfältige, digitale Inhaltsformate
Ob offline oder online – nahezu jedes Lernformat lässt sich in Verbindung mit einer digitalen Aktivität via xAPI-Statements an ein LRS kommunizieren und damit auswerten. Das Format des Lerninhaltes ist daher so gut wie irrelevant. Besonders geeignet sind jedoch digitale Formate, an denen sich bestimmte Lernereignisse automatisiert messen lassen.
Gezielt steuerbarer Datenfluss
Spezifische Lernereignisse lassen sich auf Mikroebene definieren und live, für jeden Lerner einzeln messen. Die Analyse von Lerner-individuellen Lernaktivitäten wird sogar für Zusammenhänge während des Lernens möglich wie z. B. die benötigte Lerndauer in Abhängigkeit der bereits aktiven Lernzeit. Anhand definierter Endpunkte können Daten gezielt, schnell und unmittelbar zwischen Lernmittel und LRS ausgetauscht werden.
Detaillierte Reportings für jeden Lerner
Spezifische Lernereignisse lassen sich auf Mikroebene definieren und live, für jeden Lerner einzeln messen. Die Analyse von Lerner-individuellen Lernaktivitäten wird sogar für Zusammenhänge während des Lernens möglich wie z. B. die benötigte Lerndauer in Abhängigkeit der bereits aktiven Lernzeit
Tracking von Lernaktivitäten auf Mikroebene
Dank xAPI und LRS lässt sich nicht mehr nur der Abschluss einer Lernaktivität messen, sondern auch weitere Daten erheben und in individuellen Reportings sehr detailliert auswerten. Beispiel aus dem Großhandel: Produktkarten der Rubrik "Äpfel" bieten wertvolles Wissen zu einzelnen Apfelsorten. Durch xAPI und LRS ist auswertbar, welche Sorten am häufigsten aufgerufen werden.
Die LRS und xAPI ermöglichen ein neues Level der Lernerfolgsmessung
Nahezu alle digitalen Online- und Offline-Formate haben messbare Lernerlebnisse. Diese werden durch xAPI aufgezeichnet und quantifiziert, in Echtzeit im Learning Record Store gespeichert sowie zu Reportingzwecken weiter verarbeitet. Eine Erhebung von Lernaktivitäten kann in zahlreichen digitalen Online- und Offline-Formaten stattfinden. Die Verwendung von xAPI und LRS führen zu einer neuen, komplexeren Erfassung, Auswertung und einem tiefer gehenden Verständnis digitaler Lernprozesse.

E-Learning-Standard cmi5

cmi5 verbindet als neuester LMS-Standard die Vorteile von SCORM und xAPI. cmi5 wird deshalb auch gern als “xAPI mit Regeln” bezeichnet. Nachdem mit xAPI ein Standard geschaffen wurde, der so allgemein ist, dass er möglichst viele Anwendungsfälle abbilden kann, verschlankt cmi5 die Anwendung durch “einschränkende Regeln”. Diese definieren nun, wie Lerninhalte importiert, gestartet und verfolgt werden, wenn LRS-Informationen genutzt und mit xAPI fortgeschrieben werden. Der Funktionsumfang bleibt dabei jedoch nahezu derselbe wie bei xAPI.

Fazit und Empfehlung

Je nachdem, welche Daten Sie messen, auswerten und zur weiteren Optimierung verwenden wollen, sollten Sie bei der Wahl Ihrer E-Learning Tools darauf achten, welche Möglichkeiten Ihnen hier zur Verfügung stehen. Nur xAPI und cmi5 ermöglichen das lückenlose Tracking von Lernaktivitäten, die außerhalb des Webbrowsers (beispielsweise an mobilen Geräten, in Apps oder auch offline) stattfinden.

Gestalten Sie nachhaltig die digitale Zukunft Ihrer Organisation

Wir beraten Sie gern und sichern gemeinsam mit Ihnen Ihren nachhaltigen Weiterbildungserfolg durch die innovative Gestaltung digitaler Lernprozesse.
Jetzt Beratungsgespräch vereinbaren
header image source: Wright Studio/shutterstock.com